5. February 2016

Die “Calatrava” aus Grenchen

Karl Heinz Nuber

This blog is dedicated to the successful brand relaunch by Fortis at the Baselworld trade fair 2015. The two new managers, Max Wedel, responsible for marketing, and Maximiliam Spitzy, Fortis CEO, are most amicable figures, both fellow Austrians, who have each gained years of experience abroad.

The company founded by Walter Vogt in 1912, in the Swiss town of Grenchen, relaunched its brand with the introduction of a collection that has been newly divided into four worlds – Cosmonautis, Aviatis, Aquatis and Terrestis. This division now provides a clear-cut overview. According to Mr Wedel, the number of models has thus been radically reduced from 126 to 49. I was particularly impressed by the Terrestis model line, which represents a tribute to the great pioneer years and the success of the 1930’s and 40’s.

The Terrestis collection, which includes, for instance, the 2Pi by Rolf Sachs, the Orchestra, the Hedonist, the 19Fortis p.m. or a.m. and the Tycoon, has been revamped by the renowned Scarinzi brothers. These models feature a sleek and stylish design combined with the robustness that is typical to the Fortis image. The watches also feature a new, elegant crown as an optical highlight. The hands are made according to the originals of the 1940’s. A new watchcase with a screwed-on mineral crystal caseback – eight screws – houses the Swiss made ETA2895-2 automatic mechanism with a 42 hour power reserve. Fortis now also offers the models in precious metal versions.

fortis_druck-86-719x1080

(Maximilian Spitzy, FORTIS CEO)

d2073f8d404a36474e6a8f8bd6c3af77

(Max Wedel, FORTIS Head of Marketing)

I instantly fell in love with the distinctive design vocabulary expressed by Orchestra: the domed, warm ecru-coloured dial, the nostalgically inspired feuille hands, the sapphire crystal cover, the drop-shaped lugs inspired by Fortis models from the 1930’s, and the new crown, which has a strong yet elegant appearance.

In my opinion, the Orchestra model from the Fortis Terrestis collection could become a real bestseller. I wouldn’t hesitate to compare this model with the “Calatrava” by Patek Philippe, but on a different level, of course, because Fortis does not yet have its own manufacturer’s calibre.

Fortis’ path of history is paved by a continuous line of incredible milestones. For example, the series production of the world’s first automatic wristwatch, the legendary Harwood, was launched in 1926. One of the very first waterproof watches in the world, the Fortissimo, was produced in Grenchen in 1940. After introducing the Flieger Classic in 1987, Fortis quickly became an international trendsetter among aviation watch manufacturers around the world. 1994 marked the beginning of the cooperation with the ROSCOSMOS space mission Euromir 94: the first automatic chronograph in space. Another world’s first was launched in 1998 when the first automatic chronograph with mechanical alarm was introduced. The Flieger Classic won the first European Aviation Watch Award in the year 2004. Sponsor of the Mars Mission (simulated journey to Mars) in 2009. On the company’s one hundredth anniversary, 2012 saw the introduction of the Daybreaker, the world’s first and only chronograph with alarm and GMT function. Fortis was also able to celebrate a particularly special anniversary in the year 2014 – 20 years in space. I can only mention a few examples here, because there simply wouldn’t be enough room to mention them all.

 

900.20.32-2-1920x1080-small

To mark the brand relaunch in 2015, Fortis has also adopted a new slogan: “Face the New”, a slogan that reflects the Fortis philosophy, because “Face the New” stands for a future-oriented way of thinking and the constant application of refinements, which inevitably lead from one milestone to the next. Fortis has so far dedicated itself to more than 100 years of watchmaking.

The philosophy of milestones will also be reflected in a new Flieger Classic model and a new Classic Cosmonauts model, which will be presented at the Baselworld 2016. I intend to write up a report at the end of this year.

The main markets of the Grenchen based company include the home market in Switzerland as well as the USA, Japan, Germany and Singapore. The current goal is to develop the market in China. It’s not to no avail that Fortis CEO Spitzy speaks Mandarin. He lived in China for ten years, where he built up several companies, though not in the watch industry.

Fortis manufactures watches in the price segment ranging from CHF 900 to CHF 1600 and over. However, the majority of the models are sold at prices ranging from CHF 1500 to CHF 3000.

As in recent years, Fortis will continue to exclusively offer mechanical watches.

Hence, Fortis’ quantum leap will carry to company far into the future. I wish the Austrian duo responsible for this leap great success in all their endeavours.

Maximilian Spitzy, Fortis Neo CEO explained to me: “We have helped Fortis to become the manufacturer that it always was at heart”. Or in my own words: the future of Fortis was established in the past and has once again become visible thanks to Spitzy and Wedel.

5. Februar 2016

Die „Calatrava“ aus Grenchen

Karl Heinz Nuber

Quelle: tick-talk.ch

Der zur Baselworld 2015 gelungene Marken-Relaunch von Fortis ist Anlass, dass ich in meinem Blog darüber berichte. Auch die beiden neuen Manager, Max Wedel zuständig für Marketing und Maximiliam Spitzy, Fortis CEO, beide Österreicher, beides Landsleute, die längere Zeit im Ausland gearbeitet hatten, haben meine volle Sympathie.

Nicht nur der Marken-Relaunch des von Walter Vogt 1912 in Grenchen gegründeten Unternehmens, sondern vielmehr ist es auch die Kollektion, die neu in vier Welten – Cosmonautis, Aviatis, Aquatis, Terrestis – für jeden gut verständlich – aufgeteilt wurde. Laut Wedel wurde damit die Anzahl der Modelle radikal von 126 auf 49 reduziert. Besonders ins Auge gesprungen ist mir dabei die letztere Modell-Linie, die Terrestis, die eine Hommage an die grossen Pionierjahre – von den Erfolgen der 1930er und 40er Jahredarstellt.

Die Terrestis Kollektion – wie zum Beispiel die Modelle 2Pi von Rolf Sachs, die Orchestra, die Hedonist, die 19Fortis p.m. oder a.m und die Tycoon – wurde neu von den renommierten Scarinzi-Brüdern aufgelegt. Dabei wurde ein schlankes, elegantes Design mit Fortis-typischer Robustheit kombiniert. Zudem wurden die Uhren mit einer neuen eleganten Krone ausgestattet. Die Zeiger wurden nach Originalen der 1940er Jahre erarbeitet. Ein neues Gehäuse mit einem verschraubten Mineralglas-Boden – acht Schrauben – beinhaltet das Swiss Made Automatik Werk ETA2895-2 mit einer Gangreserve von 42 Stunden. Für Fortis neu, die Modelle sind auch in Edelmetall erhältlich.

Spontan verliebt hatte ich mich sofort in die unverwechselbare Formensprache der Orchestra: Das bombardierte warme ecru-farbene Zifferblatt, die nostalgisch inspirierten Feuille-Zeiger, das darüberliegende Saphirglas, die Bandanstösse in Tropfenform inspiriert von Fortis-Modelle aus den 1930er Jahren sowie die neue griffige und zugleich elegante Krone.

Die Orchestra aus der Fortis-Terrestis Kollektion hat für mich das Zeug zum Bestseller. Ich würde den Vergleich mit der „Calatrava“ von Patek Philippe nicht scheuen, natürlich auf einer anderen Ebene da es noch kein eigenes Fortis Manufaktur Kaliber gibt.

fortis_druck-86-719x1080

(Maximilian Spitzy, FORTIS CEO)

d2073f8d404a36474e6a8f8bd6c3af77

(Max Wedel, FORTIS Marketing-Chef)

Bis heute ist die Geschichte der Fortis mit Meilensteinen geprägt. 1926 wurde so zum Beispiel die Serienproduktion der weltweit ersten automatischen Armbanduhr, der legendären Harwood, gelegt. 1940 wurde einer der ersten wasserdichten Uhren der Welt, die Fortissimo, in Grenchen produziert. 1987wurde Fortis mit dem Flieger Classic zum weltweiten Trendsetter bei Fliegeruhren. 1994 Beginn der Kooperation mit ROSCOSMOS Weltraummission Euromir 94: erster automatischer Chronograph im All. 1998 wurde der erste automatische Chronograph mit mechanischem Alarm, eine Weltneuheit lanciert. 2004 gewann die Flieger Classic den ersten European Aviation Watch Award. 2009 Sponsor der Mars Mission (simulierte Reise zum Mars). 2012 wurde der Daybreaker zum hundert jährigen Jubiläum eingeführt, der weltweite erste und einzige Chronograph mit Alarm und GMT Funktion. 2014 konnte Fortis ein Jubiläum der besonderen Art zelebrieren, 20 Jahre im Weltraum. Dies sind jedoch nur einige Beispiele, wollten wir alle Fortis-Meilensteine aufführen, fehlte hier schlichtweg der Platz.

Mit dem 2015 eingeführten Marken-Relaunch erhielt Fortis auch einen neuen Slogan: Face the New. Damit erklärt sich Fortis‘ Philosophie von selbst. „Face the New“ bedeutet zukunftsweisendes Können und stetige Verfeinerungen, die von einem Meilenstein zum nächsten führen. Bis jetzt durch mehr als 100 Jahre – der Uhrenherstellung gewidmet.

Die Philosophie der Meilensteine wird sich in einem neuen Modell Flieger Classic und einem neuen Modell Classic Cosmonauts zur Baselworld 2016 niederschlagen. Ich werde Ende dieses Jahres darüber berichten.

900.20.32-2-1920x1080-small

Zu den Hauptmärkten zählen die Grenchner neben dem Heimmarkt Schweiz, die USA, Japan, Deutschland und Singapur. Neu entwickeln möchte man jetzt den China-Markt. Nicht umsonst spricht der Fortis-Chef Spitzy auch Mandarin, denn er hat zehn Jahre in China gelebt und Firmen aufgebaut, allerdings nicht in der Uhrenbranche.

Fortis baut Uhren im Preissegment ab CHF 900 bis CHF 1 600 und mehr. Das Gros der abgesetzten Modelle bewege sich aber im Preisbereich zwischen CHF 1 500 und CHF 3 000.

Auch künftig will man wie schon seit einigen Jahren ausschliesslich mechanische Uhren anbieten.

Der Quantensprung von Fortis wird also noch lange anhalten. Ich wünsche es von Herzen dem österreichischen Duo an der Fortis Spitze.

Maximilian Spitzy, Fortis Neo-CEO meinte zu mir: „Wir haben aus Fortis wieder das gemacht, was Fortis immer war“. Oder in meinen Worten, die Zukunft von Fortis lag in der Vergangenheit, beide, Spitzy und Wedel haben sie visibel gemacht.